Published On: August 7, 2014

Women Scientists in Brazil Win Award

Share This


The 2014 CAPES-Elsevier Awards were presented at the Hotel Copacabana Palace in Rio recently. Elsevier, in partnership with the Brazilian Federal Agency for Support and Evaluation of Graduate Education (CAPES/MEC) recognized ten women scientists for their contributions to the development of science in Brazil.

Elsevier holds awards ceremonies in emerging nations around the world with the idea of supporting a nation’s research by recognizing its outstanding scientists. This year marks the eighth awards ceremony held jointly by both institutions and serves as a tribute to women who are gaining more and more traction in the Brazilian scientific research community. This is the second year the awards have focused on women researchers to encourage more women to pursue scientific careers.

The criteria for the selection of the winners was researchers who have impacted the scientific community, published articles indexed in Scopus, and the number of students under their advisement proven by Currículo Lattes.

The awards were presented by CAPES President Dr. Jorge Almeida Guimarães; CAPES Director Prof. Marcio de Castro Silva Filho; Elsevier EMERGIA Director Charles Pallandt; and Elsevier Latin America South Director Ezequiel Farré. “We hope that initiatives like this encourage the Brazilian scientific community to innovate more each day,” Farré said.

In the ceremony, winner Alicia J. Kowaltowski, M.D., Ph.D., said: “I consider it an honor to receive an award that is given for what I value greatly in the scientific process: formation of human resources and knowledge production of high quality and international visibility.”

“This award will encourage us to grow even more,” said Dr. Wyse, another winner. “The award is very important and significant because it recognizes the research developed in our laboratory, which aims to elucidate mechanisms associated with the pathophysiology of neurometabolic diseases and neurobiology of menopause, and neuroprotection.”


The 2014 CAPES-Elsevier Award winners:

  • Alicia Juliana Kowaltowski – Universidade de São Paulo
  • Ana Cristina Gales – Universidade Federal de São Paulo
  • Angela Terezinha de Souza Wyse – Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
  • Bluma Guenther Soares – Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
  • Maria Angela de Almeida Meireles – Universidade Estadual de Campinas
  • Maria Inês Schmidt – Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
  • Maria Rita dos Santos e Passos-Bueno – Universidade de São Paulo
  • Maria Valnice Boldrin Zanoni – Universidade Estadual Paulista “
  • Tatiana Emanuelli – Universidade Federal de Santa Maria
  • Vanderlan da Silva Bolzani – Universidade Estadual Paulista



Ten recipients of the 2014 CAPES Elsevier Award with the directors of CAPES and Elsevier (Photo: Murillo Tinoco)

Ten recipients of the 2014 CAPES Elsevier Award with the directors of CAPES and Elsevier (Photo: Murillo Tinoco)




[This article appeared on the Elsevier website and was edited by CIE.]

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>